Oregon Paid Sick Leave
Effective January 1, 2016 all employers must begin providing the Oregon Paid Sick Leave benefit.
Payroll Specialties can handle all of your paid sick leave accruals and record keeping/tracking requirements by state and local jurisdictions.
- Accrual or Frontloaded Sick Pay
- Record Keeping and Tracking – “Employers are required under ORS 652.610 to provide written notification at least quarterly to each employee of the amount of accrued and unused sick time available for use by the employee.”
- Download Payroll Specialties Paid Sick Leave Authorization Form or Complete Online
If you currently have a sick or PTO policy and are not sure if you comply with the new Oregon Paid Sick Leave requirements, Payroll Specialties recommends you consult with an HR professional. If you do not have an HR professional, please contact us and we will be happy to refer you to an HR Consultant.
The Law: Oregon Paid Sick Leave Law of 2016
—Effective January 1, 2016
Oregon SB 454: Oregon Paid Sick Leave Law: “Employees, including part-time and temporary employees, will earn at least one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked or one and one- third hours for every 40 hours worked (up to 40 hours per year). Employees who are hired on or after January 2, 2016 begin earning sick leave immediately, but cannot use it until their 91st calendar day of employment. Everyone who is employed when the ordinance takes effect on January 1, 2016, including those with fewer than 91 days of service, may begin taking sick leave as soon as it is available to them.
For more information, compliance posters and notices please download the files below:
- Oregon Paid Sick Leave 2016 Poster (please check back periodically as BOLI hasn’t finalized the poster yet)
- Oregon Sick Leave – FAQ
- Summary of Oregon Paid Sick Leave
- Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) Poster – English
- Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) Poster – Spanish