To comply with California’s new Paid Sick leave law, Payroll Specialties is asking all of our California clients to indicate your company’s Paid Sick Leave preference on the attached form and fax or email the sign authorization, before June 1, 2015.
PAID SICK LEAVE – “HEALTHY WORKPLACES, HEALTHY FAMILIES ACT OF 2014”
The law – paid sick leave entitlement:
- California’s new Paid Sick Leave law (AB 1522) takes effect July 1, 2015.
- An employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the beginning of employment is entitled to paid sick leave.
- Paid sic leave accrues at the rate of one hour per every 30 hours worked, paid at the employee’s regular wage rate. Accrual shall begin on the first day of employment or July 1, 2015, whichever is later.
- Accrued paid sick leave shall carry over to the following year of employment and may be capped at 48 hours or 6 days. However, subject to specified conditions, if an employer has a paid sick leave, paid leave, or paid time off policy (PTO) that provides no less than 24 hours or three days of paid leave or paid time off, no accrual or carry over is required if the full amount of leave is received at the beginning of each year in accordance with the policy.
This law applies to EVERY EMPLOYER in California EXCEPT providers of publicly funded In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS). Employees covered by collective bargaining agreements with specified provisions are exempt, as are individuals employed by an air carrier as a flight deck or cabin crew member, if they receive compensated time off at least equivalent to the requirements of the new law.
Retaliation or discrimination against an employee who requests or uses paid sick days is prohibited.
There are several things employers must do to comply with California’s new Paid Sick Leave law (AB 1522):
- Display employment posters on paid sick leave where employees can read it easily.
- Provide written “Notice to Employees” with sick leave rights at the time of hire.
- Allow eligible employees to use accrued paid sick leave upon reasonable request.
- Show how many days of sick leave an employee has available. This must be on a pay stub or a document issued the same day as a paycheck.
- Keep records showing how many hours have been earned and used for three years.
For more information please visit our California Paid Sick Leave page.
If you currently have a sick or PTO policy and are not sure if you comply with the new California Paid Sick Leave requirements, Payroll Specialties recommends you consult with an HR professional:
Payroll Masters HR On-Demand $29 a month
Ask certified HR professionals your most urgent HR questions over the phone or online. Learn more.