To comply with Oregon’s new Paid Sick leave law, Payroll Specialties is asking all of our Oregon clients to indicate your company’s Paid Sick Leave preference on the attached form and fax or email the signed authorization.
PAID SICK LEAVE – “Oregon Paid Sick Leave – SB 454”
The law –‐ paid sick leave entitlement:
- Oregon’s new Paid Sick Leave law (SB 454) takes effect January 1, 2016.
- Employees, including part-time and temporary employees, will earn at least one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked or one and one-third hours for every 40 hours worked (up to 40 hours per year).
- Everyone who is employed when the ordinance takes effect on January 1, 2016, including those with fewer than 91 days of service, may begin taking sick leave as soon as it is available to them.
- Employees who are hired on or after January 2, 2016 begin earning sick leave immediately, but cannot use it until their 91st calendar day of employment.
- Employer must allow for carryover of accrued but unused sick time from year-to-year, but employers are allowed to cap total accrued sick time at 80 hours.
This law applies to EVERY EMPLOYER in Oregon EXCEPT federal employees; work-study students; railroad workers; people employed by their parent, spouse or child; and most union-represented construction workers employed through a hiring hall. Employer size and location matter, though. Statewide, the general rule is that if you employ at least 10 employees anywhere in Oregon, the sick leave must be paid. For smaller employers with 1-9 employees, the sick leave may be unpaid. If you have a facility in Portland, then the threshold for providing paid leave kicks in if you have at least 6 employees anywhere in Oregon.
Retaliation or discrimination against an employee who requests or uses paid sick days is prohibited.
There are several things employers must do to comply with Oregon’s new Paid Sick Leave law (SB 454):
- Display employment posters on paid sick leave where employees can read it easily.
Currently the Bureau of Labor hasn’t finalized these posters yet. However, please periodically check our website www.payrollspecialties.com , click on FORMS, then STATE, Once it is available it will be listed as OR 454-SICK LEAVE POSTER
- Allow eligible employees to use accrued paid sick leave upon reasonable request. The employer may NOT require more than 10 days’ notice for the use of foreseeable sick time.
- Must provide written notification at least quarterly to each employee of the amount of accrued and unused sick time available for use by the employee.
If you currently have a sick or PTO policy and are not sure if you comply with the new Oregon Paid Sick Leave requirements, Payroll Specialties recommends you consult with an HR professional. If you do not have an HR professional, please contact us and we will be happy to refer you to an HR Consultant.
YOUR RESPONSE IS REQUIRED
PAID SICK LEAVE TRACKING AUTHORIZATION
Oregon’s new Paid Sick Leave Law (SB 454) takes effect January 1, 2016 and it affects ALL Oregon Employers, no matter how big or small. You must select from one of the four options below. Please return completed authorization to Payroll Specialties.